The Trustees

The objects of the charity are to apply the yearly income, subject to the payment of management expenses, in the relief of persons who are in need, hardship or distress and the promotion of education of persons under the age of 25, both of which being resident in the former ecclesiastical parishes of St Mary the Virgin, Twyford, St James the Great, Ruscombe and the civil parish of Charvil.

The Charity owns 3 properties in the area :
The School House, London Road, Twyford, Polehampton House, High Street, Twyford, and The Old Boy's School, High Street, Twyford.

The body of the trustees consists of eleven competent persons being one ex-officio trustee, one nominated trustee and nine co-opted trustees. The ex-oficio trustee is the vicar, for the time being, of St Mary the Virgin, Twyford and St James the Great, Ruscombe. The nominated trustee is appointed by Wokingham Borough Council to serve for 4 years and the co-opted trustees also serve for a term of four years. The trustees meet three times a year: February, May and October. There is a clerk and an assistant clerk to the charity.


               Mr R J Fort 

               Revd Anna Harwood

               Dr R Collett

               Mr W Treadwell

               Mrs K Clarke (Vice Chair)

               Mrs R Chapman

               Mr J Halsall

               Mr J March

               Mr D Turner 

               Mr A Cardy (Chair)

               Ms A Goodall-Smith

              Meeting dates 2021

              February 9th

              May 11th

              October 12th

More information can be found regarding the trustees of the Polehampton Charity on the Charity Commission website,